Seattle Theatre Gregory Award Nominees Announced

Join Theatre Puget Sound (TPS) and many wonderful people from the Seattle theatre community at The 3rd Annual Gregory Awards on Monday, October 17th, 2011 at 7:30pm at A Contemporary Theatre (ACT).  Purchase before September 30th for $20 tickets (tickets are $25GA & $35 at the door. Full information at  Fan of theatre, music, dance, or visual arts?

Check out my next blog and don't miss Arts Crush, a month long festival that kicks off Sunday.

Back to the Gregory Awards: The talented and delightful Billie Wildrick is nominated for Outstanding Actress, along with Julie BriskmanRenata FriedmanElizabeth KennyCarol Roscoe and Angela DiMarco.

Members Voice (MV) nominees are selected by the Theatre Puget Sound membership base.  People’s Choice (PC) nominees come from submissions generated by members of the general public. 

And the 2011 Nominees Are…
Outstanding Actor
Bradford Farwell
Darragh Kennan
Charles Leggett
Michael Patten
Richard Nguyen Sloniker (MV)
Connor Toms (PC)

Outstanding Actress
Julie Briskman
Renata Friedman
Elizabeth Kenny
Carol Roscoe
Billie Wildrick (MV)
Angela DiMarco (PC)

Outstanding Director
Roger Benington
Juliette Carillo
Sheila Daniels
John Langs
Brian Yorkey (MV)
Christopher Zinovitch (PC)

Outstanding Production
The Brothers Size
O Lovely Glowworm
Breaking the Code
Jesus Christ Superstar (MV)     
Cider House Rules II (PC)

Theater of the Year
ACT Theatre
Book-It Repertory Theatre
Seattle Repertory Theatre
Seattle Shakespeare Company
Village Theatre (MV)
ArtsWest (PC)

Outstanding Costume Designer
Harmony Arnold
Deane Middleton
Pete Rush
Elizabeth Caitlin Ward
Julia Evanovich (MV)
Janessa Jane Styck (PC)
Outstanding Lighting Designer
Amiya Brown
Geoff Korf
L.B. Morse
Andrew Smith
Josh Randall (PC)
Alex Berry (MV)
Outstanding Music & Sound Designer
Brendan Patrick Hogan
Paul James Prendergast
Matt Starritt
Rob Witmer
Tim Symons (MV)
Chris Walker (PC)
Outstanding Scenic Designer
Roger Benington
Andrea Bryn Bush
Matthew Smucker
Mikiko Suzuki MacAdams
Michael Mowery (MV)
Ahren Buhmann (PC)
Outstanding Playwright
Neil Ferron
Yussef El Gundi
Elizabeth Kenny
John Longenbaugh
Scotto Moore (MV)
Kelleen Conway Blanchard (PC)
TPS has received generous support for this event from Actor’s Equity Association, ACT and a consortium of other theatres.

About The Gregory Awards
The Gregory Awards is a Theatre Puget Sound program that celebrates the achievements of the Washington State theatre community. The program and ceremony are an opportunity to celebrate theatre, honor the outstanding achievements of local artists, and to raise the visibility of the local theatre scene as a whole. Opening up nominations to the TPS membership and the general public ensures that the final list of nominees on the ballot is truly reflective of the outstanding work taking place throughout the region.  The Gregory Awards began in 1998 as the Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award. Over the following 11 years, it honored individuals who spent much of their careers strengthening theatre in our region. In 2009, while continuing this tradition, six, and now ten, annual categories have been incorporated into the awards program.

The Gregory Awards are named in honor of Gregory A. Falls (1922- 1997), a former chair of the UW School of Drama, who is often credited with creating Seattle’s vibrant theater scene. Falls left the UW in 1971 to devote more time at ACT Theatre, though he stayed on as a part-time UW faculty member until 1976. He served as president of the National Theater Conference and Washington Association of Theater Artists. In 1994 Falls was inducted into the prestigious College of Fellows of the American Theatre.
About Theatre Puget Sound
THEATRE PUGET SOUND (TPS) is a leadership and service organization founded in 1997 to advocate for the region’s growing theatre community’s causes and administer much-needed services. TPS is now the Northwest’s premiere arts advocacy and leadership organization. TPS has a two-fold mission: To promote the spiritual and economic necessity of theatre to the public, and to unify and strengthen the theatre community through programs, resources, and services.  TPS serves more than 1,700 theatre practitioners and 130 organizations within our region. In addition to ARTS CRUSH, TPS sponsors workshops and seminars, regional auditions, manages affordable rehearsal and performance space in the Seattle Center House, produces the annual Gregory Awards, and coordinates and promotes other events which strengthen and celebrate our local community.

I love comments and questions! Post yours here:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s